Social Enterprise

Launching a business to enhance impact while generating revenue.

Community organizations use social enterprise ‘businesses’ to achieve their social, cultural, and/or environmental goal while generating revenue.

Innoweave Introduction to Social Enteprise Webinar from J.W. McConnell Family Foundation on Vimeo.

Download the slides from the Introduction to Social Enterprise webinar here.

Social enterprises can help nonprofits achieve a number of different goals including:

  • Providing skills, training, and employment experience (e.g. a catering company that employs people who face employment barriers)
  • Enabling people to choose more environmentally sustainable options (e.g. selling environmentally friendly products)
  • Increasing social inclusion (e.g. services for seniors, children, or people with disabilities)
  • Facilitating access to the arts (e.g. community theatre)

Organizations often launch a social enterprise for one or more of the following three reasons:

  • To meet a need in the community that is not being met through traditional a business model. For example: Eva's Phoenix Printing in Toronto trains youth at risk in the printing business, preparing them to leave their street lives and enter into the labour market.
  • To advance or achieve a specific social mission. For example: Haida Gwaii Higher Education Society operates an accredited University level academic program to bring students to their community to learn about the local First Nations culture and arts, and the unique local biology environment. In addition to the student learning, there is an important local economic impact for the isolated region of Haida Gwaii.
  • To contribute to the financial sustainability of a non-profit organization. For example: The Prince George Aboriginal Friendship Centre rents out the excess space in the building they own. The income from rent covers the mortgage payment and their program administrative costs.

This module will increase participant’s knowledge about social enterprise and explore the value it can add to their non-profit, while helping participants to think about whether social enterprise is appropriate for their organization at this time.

Content for this module has been developed by enp Canada.

 


Upcoming Webinars

Close

Infolettre

Entreprise sociale

Lancer une entreprise pour augmenter l’impact en générant des recettes.

Les organismes sans but lucratif utilisent le modèle de l’entreprise sociale pour atteindre leur but social, culturel et/ou environnemental tout en générant des revenus. Les entreprises sociales peuvent aider les organismes sans but lucratif à atteindre un certain nombre d’objectifs différents, y compris :

  • Renforcer des compétences, offrir de la formation et de l’expérience d’emploi (p. ex. une entreprise en restauration qui embauche des personnes qui font face à des obstacles à l’emploi)
  • Permettre aux gens de choisir des options écologiques plus viables (p. ex. conscients de l’environnement - vente de produits responsables)
  • Accroître l’inclusion sociale (p. ex. services pour les ainé(es), les enfants ou les personnes handicapées)
  • Faciliter l’accès aux arts (p. ex. théâtre communautaire)

Innoweave Entreprise sociale de la Fondation de la famille J.W. McConnell sur Vimeo.

Les organisations créent souvent une entreprise sociale pour une ou plusieurs des raisons suivantes :

  • Pour répondre à un besoin dans la communauté qui n'est pas comblé par un modèle traditionnel d’entreprise. Par exemple, Eva's Phoenix Printing à Toronto (Ontario) forme les jeunes à risque dans le secteur de l’imprimerie, les préparant à quitter leur vie d’itinérance et à s’intégrer dans le marché du travail.
  • Pour faire avancer ou réaliser une mission sociale particulière. Par exemple, Haida Gwaii Higher Education Society (Colombie-Britannique) offre un programme universitaire afin d’inciter les jeunes de la communauté à étudier les arts et la culture autochtone ainsi que la biologie unique à l’environnement de la région. En plus de la formation des étudiants, il y a un impact économique important pour la région isolée de Haida Gwaii.
  • Contribuer à la viabilité financière d’une organisation sans but lucratif. Par exemple, le Centre d’amitié de Prince George (Colombie-Britannique) loue l'espace excédentaire dans l'immeuble dont ils sont propriétaires. Les revenus du loyer couvrent le paiement de l’hypothèque et les frais administratifs de leurs programmes.

Ce module permettra d'accroître les connaissances des participants sur l'entreprise sociale et d'explorer la valeur qu'elle peut ajouter à leur organisme sans but lucratif, tout en aidant les participant.es à réfléchir à savoir si le modèle d’entreprise sociale est le meilleur choix pour leur organisme en ce moment.

Le contenu de ce module a été développé par: