Social Finance

Accessing capital to purchase an asset, launch a new initiative, scale up, or better manage financials.

Social finance enables community organizations to access new money to enhance their impact. Organizations can complement grants, contracts, and other forms of earned income with repayable debt and equity investments to fund future work. These investments can be used to generate savings or income to repay investors. In many cases, repayment terms are negotiated to meet the needs of the organization.

Foundations, credit unions, and other social finance investors are excited by new ways to use their capital to generate a social return as well as a financial return. Many are looking for opportunities to make repayable investments in community organizations.

Social finance tools can help diversify sources of cash. As investors require repayment, these tools do not replace revenue. They are intended to complement grants, government contracts and contribution agreements, donations, and earned income.

In determining whether and how to use social finance tools, community organizations should consider:

  • What they need financing for, or how they would use the money
  • How the money will be paid back at a later date
  • How the financing opportunity fits with their mission, values, and capacity

The Innoweave Social Finance Workshop helps leadership teams of community organizations assess how social finance tools can work for them. Leadership teams will leave with an understanding of how to:

  • clarify how they might use financing;
  • develop and assess options to access financing;
  • and take the next steps towards implementation.

Content for this module has been developed by 

and


Upcoming Workshops

Close

Infolettre

Finance sociale

Accéder à du capital pour acquérir un actif, lancer une nouvelle initiative, mettre à l’échelle ou mieux gérer les finances.

La finance sociale permet aux organismes d’obtenir de nouveaux fonds pour accroître leur impact. Ils peuvent ainsi compléter leur budget provenant de subventions, de contrats ou d’autres formes de revenus par des emprunts ou des investissements de capitaux remboursables pour financer leur travail futur. Ces investissements servent à produire des économies ou des revenus qui permettront de rembourser les investisseurs. Dans bien des cas, les modalités de remboursement sont négociées en fonction des besoins de l’organisme.

Les fondations, les coopératives de crédit et d’autres investisseurs sociaux sont séduits par de nouveaux moyens d’utiliser leurs capitaux pour obtenir un rendement à la fois social et financier. Plusieurs cherchent des possibilités de faire des investissements remboursables dans des organismes communautaires.

Les outils de finance sociale peuvent aider à diversifier les sources de financement. Comme il faut rembourser les investisseurs, ces outils ne remplacent pas les revenus. Ils sont plutôt un complément aux subventions, aux contrats et accords de contribution des gouvernements, aux dons et aux revenus produits par l’organisme.

Pour déterminer la pertinence d’utiliser les outils de finance sociale et la façon de le faire, les organismes communautaires doivent considérer divers éléments :

  • Ce qu’ils veulent financer ou la façon dont ils utiliseront les fonds
  • Les modalités du remboursement ultérieur
  • L’adéquation entre la source de financement et leur mission, leurs valeurs et leurs capacités

L’atelier Finance sociale d’Innoweave aide les équipes de coordination d’organismes communautaires à évaluer en quoi les outils de finance sociale peuvent leur être utiles. Après l’atelier, les équipes de coordination sauront comment :

  • Clarifier la façon dont ils pourraient utiliser du financement;
  • Élaborer et évaluer diverses options relatives à l’obtention de financement;
  • Passer aux étapes suivantes de la mise en œuvre.

Le contenu de ce module a été développé par: