Close

Newsletter

Impact Measurement

Proving impact and improving performance

This stream is still in development and we will be sharing more updates as it comes online. Innoweave will be piloting material for this stream in spring 2019, and opening our supports more broadly in autumn 2019.

Many nonprofits, charities and social enterprises are seeking to better understand how to describe the impact that they are having on the people, organizations and issues they work with. At the same time, there is greater pressure to “demonstrate impact” to funders, boards and other stakeholders. In practice, impact measurement remains challenging – with inconsistent definitions, fragmentation in approaches and methods, and numerous technical and capacity challenges.

How we think about impact measurement

Impact is a term that is often used quite loosely to imply any type of change or progress; however, it requires a more nuanced treatment related to the organization’s theory of change - not only in terms of “proving” that there were positive changes, but also “improving” over time. There are many definitions of impact, but it typically refers to the intended and unintended (positive or otherwise) changes (outputs, outcomes) that occur across the organization (within and/or across its programs) and with its stakeholders (including users, clients, partners, etc.) over a period of time (short term, long term) as a result of the organization’s activities.

Measurement not only seeks to understand what changes occur when, but also why and how. Most nonprofits are familiar with monitoring (tracking short-term outputs and outcomes) and evaluation (assessing longer-term outcomes and impact) approaches. Impact measurement also involves organizing and assessing the evidence base (what we know, what we want to learn), and getting feedback from clients and stakeholders. In this way, impact measurement is not just about “proving” impact, but also about “improving” impact through nurturing a data-driven and evidence-informed culture that promotes results, learning, and constant improvement.

Innoweave Impact Measurement coaching support

Innoweave’s Impact Measurement module will strengthen impact measurement approaches and capacity for nonprofits and charities – by clarifying key concepts, reviewing potential approaches and choices, and applying actionable implementation guidance. This will include:

  • Introducing key concepts, issues and challenges in impact measurement
  • Provide an overview of various approaches and tools for implementing organizations
  • Highlight selected themes to improve measurement practice e.g. evidence and feedback
  • Review actionable guidance and strategies that organizations can apply and adapt
  • Provide access to coaching support through Innoweave coaches

If you are interested in learning more, write to info@innoweave.ca to speak with a member of the development team.

Resources

Close

Infolettre

Mesure de l'impact

Démontrer l’impact et améliorer le rendement

Ce volet est en voie d’élaboration – nous vous tiendrons au courant des développements en ligne. Innoweave pilotera le matériel de ce volet au printemps 2019 et offrira un soutien plus large à compter de l’automne 2019.

Plusieurs organismes sans but lucratif, organismes caritatifs et entreprises sociales cherchent à mieux décrire l’impact qu’ils exercent sur les personnes, les organismes et les enjeux qu’ils touchent. Par ailleurs, ils ont de plus en plus besoin de démontrer clairement leur impact aux bailleurs de fonds, conseils d’administration et autres intervenants. En pratique, la mesure de l’impact reste un exercice difficile – définitions contradictoires, approches et méthodes fragmentées, multiples difficultés liées aux techniques et aux capacités.

Notre conception de la mesure de l’impact

Le terme impact est souvent utilisé de façon assez vague, pour qualifier tout type de changement ou de progrès. Il faut toutefois s’en servir de façon plus nuancée en lien avec la théorie du changement de l’organisme – pas seulement pour prouver les changements positifs, mais aussi pour améliorer le rendement. Il y a plusieurs définitions de l’impact, mais on s’entend généralement pour dire qu’il s’agit des changements (résultats, extrants) voulus et non voulus, positifs ou non, survenus au sein de l’organisme ou dans ses programmes, et avec ses intervenants – utilisateurs, clients, partenaires, etc. – sur une période donnée (à court, moyen ou long terme) en raison des activités de l’organisme.

On ne mesure pas seulement pour saisir quels changements sont survenus et quand, mais aussi pourquoi et comment. La plupart des organismes sans but lucratif connaissent bien les approches de suivi (résultats et extrants à court terme) et d’évaluation (résultats et impact à long terme). La mesure de l’impact suppose aussi d’organiser et d’évaluer les données de base (ce que nous savons, ce que nous voulons apprendre), et de recueillir le feedback des clients et autres intervenants. De cette façon, la mesure de l’impact permet non seulement de prouver l’impact, mais aussi de l’améliorer en stimulant une culture fondée sur les données et les faits probants, qui privilégie les résultats, l’apprentissage et l’amélioration continue.

Encadrement offert par le module Mesure de l’impact d’Innoweave

Le module Mesure de l’impact d’Innoweave renforcera les approches et les capacités des organismes caritatifs ou sans but lucratif – clarification des concepts clés, exploration d’approches et d’options possibles, mise en oeuvre concrète des conseils sur la mesure de l'impact.

  • Présentation des concepts, enjeux et difficultés clés en matière de mesure de l’impact
  • Vue d’ensemble de diverses approches et divers outils
  • Thèmes choisis en vue d’améliorer la pratique – faits probants et feedback, par ex.
  • Guide de mise en œuvre et stratégies à appliquer et adapter
  • Encadrement par les mentors d’Innoweave

Pour en savoir plus, écrire à info@innoweave.ca afin de parler à un membre de l’équipe d’élaboration.

Ressources