Close

Newsletter

Case Studies

Social finance tools offer several benefits, and can help organizations:

  • Launch a viable initiative that cannot be funded from current cashflows (e.g. purchase an asset or launch a program before all funds are raised or saved)
  • Do things more efficiently (e.g. purchase a building rather than paying rent)
  • Invest in activities that can generate revenue (e.g. launch a social enterprise)
  • Better manage their uneven cashflows over a period of time

Some common ways community organizations use social finance approaches include:

  • Purchasing a building or other asset. Example: Four local community agencies purchase a new building. They receive a patient capital loan, allowing them to co-locate and renovate a downtown building instead of renting—the mortgage payments cover an asset (the building) rather than an expense (rent).
  • Growing to a new location or launch a new line of business such as a social enterprise. Example: A women's transitional housing organization recognizes that it has real estate management competencies and will use these skills to set up a company whose profits will subsidize the organization—they access a start-up capital loan for the social enterprise.
  • Funding operations and smooth financial flows. Example: A non-profit has successfully delivered a government contract, but is waiting for the final payment to be released. A social finance fund provides a bridge loan to cover its payroll until the government contract is paid out.

Case Studies

The following case studies describe how different nonprofit organizations have undertaken social finance strategies. Please click on the links below to learn more.

  • Atira Property Management

    Atira Property Management (APM) is a social enterprise of Atira Women’s Society providing a range of financial, administrative, and physical property management services throughout the Vancouver area. When APM decided to scale their impact by incorporating a social hiring strategy, they secured two loans from Social Capital Partners that were friendly, offered at preferred interest rates and with simple, straightforward terms. Read more...

  • THEMUSEUM

    Kitchener’s THEMUSEUM aims to be a premier cultural destination in the region, but they were burdened by cash flow issues. Attracting and creating exhibitions frequently required deposits of tens of thousands of dollars up to a year before an exhibition opened, when revenue could be gained through ticket sales and sponsorships. THEMUSEUM secured a loan that met their exhibition and expansion needs. Read more...

  • YWCA Toronto

    The Toronto YWCA recently issued a community housing bond (promissory note) worth $1 million as part of their fundraising strategy for a new site on Elm Street in Toronto. The bond was set at a 4% fixed interest rate over 10 years, and was purchased by the Muttart Foundation, a private foundation based in Edmonton. In leveraging social finance, the YWCA was able to save significant money due to the lower cost of borrowing this option presented. Read more...

Close

Infolettre

Études de cas

Les outils de finance sociale présentent plusieurs avantages et peuvent aider les organisations à:

  • Lancer une initiative rentable qui ne peut être financée à partir des fonds courants de l'organisme (ex. acheter un bien ou lancer un programme avant que l'ensemble des fonds ait été épargnés ou amassés)
  • Faire les choses de manière plus efficace (ex. acheter un immeuble au lieu de payer un loyer)
  • Investir dans des activités qui peuvent générer des revenus (ex. lancer une entreprise sociale)
  • Mieux gérer des fluctuations de trésorerie 

Parmi les façons de faire les plus utilisées en finance sociale, on trouve:

  • Acheter un immeuble ou un autre bien. Exemple: Quatre agences communautaires s'unissent pour acheter un nouvel immeuble. Elles reçoivent un prêt en capital patient qui leur permet de devenir co-propriétaires et de rénover un immeuble du centre-ville, plutôt que d'avoir à louer chacun séparément leurs espaces. Les paiements d'hypothèque leur permettent de couvrir un bien (l'immeuble) au lieu d'avoir à payer une dépense (des loyers).
  • Étendre ses activités dans une nouvelle zone géographique ou lancer une nouvelle ligne d'affaires comme une entreprise sociale. Exemple: Une organisation offrant des services d'hébergement de transition à des femmes prend acte qu'elle possède de solides compétences en gestion immobilière. Elle utilise ces compétences pour démarrer une entreprise dont les profits généreront des revenus pour l'organisme à but non lucratif. Ils peuvent ainsi accéder à un prêt en capital pour le lancement de leur entreprise sociale. 
  • Financer les opératyions et harmoniser les flux de trésorerie. Exemple: Un organisme à but non lucratif a obtenu un contrat du gouvernement dont le paiement final n'est pas encore entré. Un fonds en finance sociale leur permet de faire un emprunt pour couvrir les salaires jusqu'à ce que l'organisme reçoive le paiement final de la part du gouvernement. 

Études de cas

  • Atira Property Management (APM) (Atira Gestion de propriétés) est une entreprise sociale issue de la Atira Women's Society (Vancouver) qui offre une variété de services de gestion de propriété: finances, administration et entretien des immeubles. Quand APM a décidé d'accroître son impact en incorporant une stratégie d'embauche sociale, elle a pu avoir accès à deux prêts de la Social Capital Partners qui étaient flexibles et offraient un taux d'intérêt avantageux tout en offrant des conditions de prêt simples. Pour en apprendre davantage (En).

  • Le THEMUSEUM de Kitchener visait à devenir une destination culturelle phare de sa région, mais était plombée par des enjeux de flux de trésorerie. Créer ou attirer des expositions demande souvent d'avancer des dizaines de milliers de dollars jusqu'à un an avant l'ouverture de l'exposition, moment où les entrées d'argent peuvent commencer à se faire (billetterie et commandites). Le THEMUSEUM a obtenu un prêt qui lui a permis de faire face à cet enjeu, tout en lui permettant de réaliser ses projets d'expansion. Pour en apprendre davantage (En).

  • Le YWCA de Toronto a récemment procédé à l'émission d'obligations d'hébergement communautaire (billet à ordre) pour une valeur de 1 million $. Cette part de leur stratégie de financement visait à amasser des fonds pour établir un nouveau site sur la rue Elm à Toronto. Les obligations ont été émises à un taux fixe de 4% sur 10 ans et ont été achetées par la Fondation Muttart, une fondation privée basée à Edmonton. En utilisant cet outil de finance sociale, le YWCA a pu économiser des frais d'intérêt importants qu'aurait comporté l'option d'un emprunt régulier. Pour en apprendre davantage (En).