Close

Newsletter

Workshop Information

There are many examples of social enterprises. Although not all of them would label themselves that way, they all use a business model to create social value. A social enterprise can take on many forms. Click on the link below to learn more.

  • What is a Social Enterprise?

    Social enterprises can:

    • Sell many different products from planter boxes, fertilizer, or patio furniture to packing cartons, meat pies, and cookies.
    • Offer a range of services from consulting, recycling, or building management to courier and voice mailbox services, lawn maintenance, cafes, and restaurants.
    • Generate a range of financial returns from 5% to (over) 100% of a program or organization's costs. Income sources can range from high-end businesses with private clientele or discounted services paid for by low-income clientele, to government contracts or government-funded services.
    • Support many different outcomes from enhanced employment skills for Aboriginal youth, to better nourished or healthier low-income children, increased fish stocks, or higher levels of employment for people with mental health challenges or people with developmental disabilities.

    To learn more about how social enterprises have been used to address specific social priorities such as poverty reduction, accessible health care, integrating immigrants, and providing necessary goods and services, read Enterprising Non-Profits’ (enp) What Social Enterprise Can Do in Your Community.

Explore Social Enterprise with Innoweave workshops

Innoweave provides mulitple levels of support for organizations exploring and developing ideas for a social enterprise. Please click on the links below to learn more.

  • Introduction to Social Enterprise Webinar


    The Introduction to Social Enterprise webinar provides an overview of the Social Enterprise module, and review concepts and basic approaches associated with social enterprise. It also provides an overview of the Innoweave Social Enterprise workshop.

    Multiple webinars are held annually. A pre-recorded Introduction to Social Enterprise webinar can also be viewed here.

  • Social Enterprise Opportunity Identification Webinar


    Innoweave also offers Social Enterprise Opportunity Identification webinars. These sessions help organizations explore a range of social enterprise options that they could develop. Organizations can then select one of those options to develop at the Feasibility Planning Workshop. A recording of a demonstration workshop can be viewed here. Materials including an agenda for the two hour session and worksheets, can be downloaded here.

  • Social Enterprise Feasibility Planning Workshop


    The Innoweave Social Enterprise workshop helps organizations explore and develop their idea for a social enterprise. The workshop will help leadership teams gain clarity on:

    • The feasibility of their idea including market conditions;
    • The basic elements of a potential business plan for their idea including draft financials, and impact targets
    • Next steps including key assumptions that they need to validate and test.
     

    This Innoweave workshop is intended for organizations that are thinking seriously about creating a social enterprise, have a specific idea and have the readiness to do so. The session will provide the space and support for leadership teams to think through their next steps in launching a business.

  • Social Innovation Micro-Tools


    Innoweave also offers Micro-Tools, which include a number of resources which teams may wish to explore before a workshop, including:

    • Business Model Canvas: Create a quick Social Enterprise plan here
    • Experience Map: Understand how customers relate to you here
    • Partnerships Map: Plan and assess partnerships for your social enterprise here
    • Stakeholder Visualization: Understand the customers for your Social Enterprise here
    • Target Group: Know your Social Enterprise target customer groups here
    • Theory of Change: Align your activities with your impacts here
     

    Organizations that have participated in an Innoweave Social Enterprise workshop and are clear on the business that they would like to develop and the assistance that they require to move forward (e.g. conduct a feasibility study/develop a business plan) will be eligible to apply for Innoweave Social Enterprise Implementation Funding. Read more about the funding process here.

Close

Infolettre

Information sur l'atelier

Il existe plusieurs exemples d’entreprises sociales. Même si les projets ne s’identifient pas tous comme étant des entreprises sociales, ils utilisent tous un modèle d’affaires pour déterminer et créer leur valeur sociale. Une entreprise sociale peut prendre plusieurs formes. Cliquez sur les liens plus bas pour en apprendre davantage.

  • Qu’est-ce qu’une entreprise sociale?

    Une entreprise sociale peut:

    • Vendre plusieurs types de produits allant des jardinières, à des fertilisants en passant par des biscuits ou des tourtières.
    • Offrir une variété de services incluant des services de consultation, de recyclage de matières, de gestion d’immeubles ou encore des services de boîtes vocales ou de courrier, des cafés et des restaurants.
    • Générer des revenus permettant de couvrir de 5% à 100% des coûts de programme d’un organisme. Les sources de revenus peuvent être très divers, allant des services hautement personnalisés offerts à une clientèle privée à des services à faible coût pour des populations à faible revenus ou encore des contrats gouvernementaux ou l’offre de services financés par le gouvernement.
    • Apporter des effets positifs auprès de diverses populations, allant du développement de compétences chez les jeunes autochtones à l’amélioration de la santé chez les enfants issus de milieux défavorisés en passant par l’augmentation du niveau des stocks de poissons ou encore un taux d’embauche accrû pour les personnes avec une déficience intellectuelle ou un handicap physique.

    Pour en apprendre davantage sur la manière dont les entreprises sociales ont été utilisées pour répondre à un enjeu spécifique tel que la réduction de la pauvreté, l’accessibilité aux soins de santé, l’intégration des immigrants ou une offre de biens et services adaptée aux populations démunies, lisez les pages suivantes du site ENP: Enterprising Non-Profits’ (enp) What Social Enterprise Can Do in Your Community.

Explorez les possibilités de l’entreprise sociale avec un atelier Innoweave

Innoweave offre plusieurs niveaux de soutien pour les organismes qui souhaitent explorer les possibilités d’une entreprise sociale et développer de nouvelles idées pour en mettre une sur pied. Cliquez sur les liens suivants pour en savoir davantage.

  • Webinaire d’introduction à l’entreprise sociale


    Le webinaire d’introduction à l’entreprise sociale présente un survol du module Entreprise sociale d’Innoweave et révise les concepts de base et les approches associées à l’entreprise sociale. Il offre également un aperçu de l’atelier en entreprise sociale d’Innoweave.

    Plusieurs webinaires sont offerts chaque année. Vous pouvez également consulter un enregistrement de l’Introduction à l’entreprise sociale ici.

  • Webinaire d’identification d’opportunité pour une entreprise sociale


    Innoweave offre des webinaires permettant aux organismes d’explorer une variété d’options d’entreprises sociales qu’ils pourraient vouloir développer. Des ateliers permettent ensuite d’approfondir une option qui aura été choisie par l’organisme lors du webinaire. Un enregistrement d’un atelier de démonstration peut être visionné ici (En). Les documents, incluant l’ordre du jour de la session de deux heures ainsi que des feuilles de travail peuvent être téléchargés ici (En).

  • Atelier de planification de la faisabilité d’une entreprise sociale


    L’atelier Innoweave en entreprise sociale aide les organismes à explorer et développer de nouvelles idées d’entreprise sociale. L’atelier permettra à l’équipe de gestion de préciser:

    • La faisabilité de leur idée, incluant les conditions du marché;
    • Les éléments de base d’un plan d’affaires potentiel pour leur idée d’entreprise sociale, incluant les aspects financiers et les objectifs d’impact.
    • Les prochaines étapes incluant les hypothèses de travail à valider et mettre à l’épreuve.
     

    Cet atelier d’Innoweave est conçu pour les organisation qui réfléchissent sérieusement à mettre sur pied une entreprise sociale, qui ont une idée spécifique à propos de ce que ça pourrait être et qui ont la capacité à aller de l’avant. Cette séance offrira l’espace et le soutien pour aider les équipes de leadership à préparer les différentes étapes menant au lancement d’une entreprise sociale.

  • Micro-outils en innovation sociale


    Innoweave offre également des micro-outils, incluant plusieurs types de ressources et d’exercices différents que les équipes pourraient vouloir explorer avant de participer à un atelier, dont:

    • Business Model Canvas: Créez un plan d’entreprise social rapidement avec cet outil ici
    • Cartographie de l’expérience client: Comprenez de quelle manière vos clients interagissent avec vous ici (en anglais)
    • Cartographie des partenariats: Planifiez et évaluez ici (en anglais) vos partenariats en ayant en tête votre projet d’entreprise sociale
    • Visualisation des parties prenantes: Comprendre qui sont les clients de votre entreprise sociale ici
    • Groupe cible: Déterminez qui sont les clients potentiels de votre entreprise sociale ici (en anglais)
    • Théorie du changement: Alignez vos activités avec votre impact ici
     

    Les organisations qui sont claires sur les objectifs qu'ils souhaitent atteindre en lançant une entreprise sociale peuvent faire une demande de financement de mise en œuvre auprès d’Innoweave pour le module d'entreprise sociale. Pour commencer une demande de financement, en commençant par la soumission d'une expression d'intérêt, veuillez cliquer ici.